Germany and Austria Take 3 Student Oscars Home!

German Student-Director Ilker Çatak wins Gold Medal at Student Academy Awards 2015!

academyawardsThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences tonight honored 15 student winners from colleges and universities around the world at the 42nd Student Academy Awards ceremony, held at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.  The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards were announced and presented by actors Michelle Rodriguez and Jason Mitchell, Oscar®-winning director John Lasseter, and the Oscar-winning team behind the animated feature “Big Hero 6,” Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams.

A great success for up-and-coming German filmmakers: this year sees all three prizes for the 42nd Student Academy Awards in the Best Foreign Film category going to directors from Germany for the first time. Ilker Çatak will receive the award for his short FIDELITY (Hamburg Media School), Dustin Loose for THE LAST WILL (Baden-Würtemberg Film Academy), and Patrick Vollrath for EVERYTHING WILL BE OK (DE/AT), which was made at the Vienna Film Academy. This was announced by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

German films are often very successful at the Student Oscars. Last year, two of the three prizes in the Best Foreign Film category went to German filmmakers: Lennart Ruff won Gold for NOCEBO (HFF Munich), and Peter Baumann received Bronze for BORDER PATROL (Northern Film School, Leeds). 2012 saw another two films from Germany being added to the list of prize-winners with OF DOGS AND HORSES by Thomas Stuber and THE SWING OF THE COFFIN MAKER by Elmar Imanov.

The Student Academy Awards, also known as Student Oscars, are annually awarded in five categories by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. They are among the most prestigious awards in the field of student films. The prize-winners include such well-known names as Robert Zemeckis, Spike Lee and John Lasseter.

Source:; Academy Publicity Department