Merkel Re-Elected as Chancellor

Photo: Bundesregierung/Steins

The German Bundestag has re-elected Angela Merkel Chancellor. In the first round of voting, she won 364 of 692 votes cast. Angela Merkel accepted the result of the vote.

This is the fourth time that Angela Merkel has been elected Chancellor, following the 2005, 2009 and 2013 elections. Of the 709 members of the German Bundestag, 692 cast their vote. Angela Merkel obtained what is termed the “chancellor majority,” i.e. the absolute majority of the members of the German Bundestag, in the first round of voting. Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier proposed on 5 March that “Ms Angela Merkel be elected Chancellor in line with Article 63 (1) of the German Basic Law or constitution.”

Read more on the Bundeskanzlerin.