Federal Foreign Office Awards German US Prize for Journalists

Award winners 2016 (L to R): Nora Gantenbrink, Commentary-Award winner Ansgar Graw, Kerstin Kohlenberg

State Secretary Walter Lindner, on behalf of Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, will honour this year’s recipients of the Arthur F. Burns Prize for journalism in Berlin on 30 May 2018. The awards are being presented at the annual dinner of the Arthur F. Burns Fellowship Programme, in the atrium of Deutsche Bank in Berlin.

The Arthur F. Burns Prize was established in 1994 by the Federal Foreign Office and the Board of Trustees of the International Journalists’ Programmes e.V. (IJP), and is awarded annually to one German and one North American alumnus of the Arthur F. Burns Fellowship Programme for outstanding reporting on political, economic or social issues in the other country or on German-American relations. In addition the IJP Board of Trustees annually confers the George F. Kennan Commentary Award for the best German commentary on transatlantic issues. Each winner will receive 2000 euros.

This year’s recipients are Roman Deininger, a Süddeutsche Zeitung correspondent, for his article “Sag die Wahrheit” (Tell the truth), which appeared on 22 April 2017, and Colorado-based freelance journalist Vauhini Vara, for her essay in the December edition of “The Atlantic” entitled “Can Unions Stop the Far Right?”

Read more on the FFO’s website.